Summary

to memory of the Patriot is devoted...

- Whom do you love?
- I love Belarus.
- So mutually... The password of Belarusian insurgents

Kastus Kalinouski

Kastus Kalinouski (Vikentsy Kanstantsin Kalinouski) is an outstanding figure of belarusian history. A person, who for the first time after centuries of foreign opression loudly had declared the rights of Belarusians and had elevated a question of restoration of our statehood. He was a man who had devoted his conscious life to struggle for freedom and better tomorrow for our native land.

Kalinawa - Kalinouski's family emblem

Kalinouski's family emblem ("Kalinawa")

K. Kalinouski was born on the 21st of January 1838 in the family of impoverished nobleman. It happened in a small estate, which was called Mastauliany. Kastus's childhood wasn't easy. At ages of 5 years he lost his mother. Naturally, the stepmother couldn't give to her stepsons true love and care.

But despite all difficulties Kastus got good education. He had finished The District School in Svislach and The St.-Petersburg Emperor's University. At the beginning of 1861 Kalinouski received his diploma with the degree of Master of Law.

During his studying at the university Kastus was taking part in activity of student's underground circles. He was reading unique works written by such excellent figures of Russian revolutionary democracy as N. Dobrolubov and N. Chernyshevski. Maybe, he personally met them.

So, Kalinouski's revolutionary outlook was formed in his studentship. Exactly in this period Kastus had made up his mind to fight against national and social injustice which prospered in the Russian Empire.

Soon after returning home in Belarus in spring of 1861 the young patriot headed the secret revolutionary organization built up by him in Harodnia (Hrodna) province.

"The Serf's Truth"

"The Serf's Truth", the 1st issue

Later Kalinouski became one of the main figures in the Belarusian and Lithuanian rebellious centre. To bring into the future insurgent's army the wide masses of peasantry Kalinouski had organized the edition of illegal newspaper called "Muzhytskaya Prauda" ("The Serf's Truth"). This was the first newspaper printed in Belarusian. Each issue of "The Serf's Truth" was devoted to some problem. The newspaper has been unmasking the real politics of imperial authorities. It was a true call for freedom.

The portrait of K. Kalinouski

The portrait of K. Kalinouski made by A. Banoldzi (Bonoldy)

In the emancipatory movement Kalinouski was belonging to revolutionary democracy wing which was called "the reds". Kastus together with his comrades had been struggling for independence of Belarus and Lithuania. In social sphere they required the lands for peasants and mounting fair relations in the society.

At the time when the uprising on the 10th of January 1863 began Kalinouski was a leader of Belarusian and Lithuanian insurgent's Committee. In fact, he led the rebellious government in Vilnia (Vilnius). But another part of conspirators known as "the whites" consisted of rich landowners. They didn't want to attract in the rebellion the people masses and decided to take a power in the rebel's organization in their own hands. As a result of inside revolution made by "the whites" Kalinouski with his associates was dismissed from the power. He was sent in Harodnia as a district rebel's commissar.

Only after four months of "the whites"'s ruling that was so passive and sluggish "the reds" were returned into the governing of the uprising. But it was late already. Despite of all efforts made by Kalinouski the revolt was suppressed by autumn. While Kastus had been remaining loose he did everything he could to accumulate forces and to reanimate the struggle next spring. But a traitor had betrayed Kalinouski and he was arrested.

In a prison Kastus had written touching last appeals to his bride and all Belarusian people known as "Pismy z-pad shybenitsy" ("The Letters from under the gibbet").

On the 10th of March 1864 Kastus Kalinouski was executed on Lukishki Square in Vilnia.

Назад

Summary

памяти Патриота посвящается...

- Кого любишь?
- Люблю Беларусь.
- Так взаимно. Пароль белорусских повстанцев

Кастусь Калиновский

Кастусь Калиновский (Викентий Константин Калиновский) – выдающаяся личность в белорусской истории. Человек, который впервые после столетий иностранного угнетения в полный голос заявил о правах белорусов, поднял вопрос о возроджении нашей государственности. Он посвятил всю свою сознательную жизнь борьбе за свободу и лучшее будущее родной земли.

Калинава - родовый герб Калиновских

Родовый герб Калиновских ("Калинава")

К. Калиновский родился 21-го января 1838 г. в семье обедневшего дворянина. Это произошло в небольшом имении, называвшемся Мостовляны. Детство Кастуся было нелёгким. Ему было всего 5 лет, когда умерла его мать. И, естествено, мачеха не могла окружить пасынков настоящей любовью и заботой.

Но, несмотря на все трудности, Кастусь получил хорошее образование. Он закончил Свислочское уездное училище и С-Петербургский Императорский университет. В начале 1861 г. Калиновский получил диплом со степенью кандидата права.

Во время своего обучения в университете Кастусь принимал участие в деятельности подпольных студенческих кружков, зачитывался сочинениями таких видных представителей российской революционной демократии, как Н. Добролюбов и Н. Чернышевский. Возможно, он даже был лично знаком с ними.

Таким образом, революционное мировоззрение Калиновского сформировалось в его студенческие годы. Именно в этот период своей жизни Кастусь решился бороться против национальной и социальной несправедливости, процветавшей в Российской империи.

Вскоре после возвращения домой на Беларусь весной 1861 г. молодой патриот создал тайную революционную организацию в Гродненской губернии.

"Мужицкая правда"

"Мужицкая правда" №1

Позднее Калиновский стал одним из главных действующих лиц в белорусско-литовском повстанческом центре. Чтобы привлечь в будущую повстанческую армию широкие массы крестьянства Калиновский организовал издание нелегальной газеты, названной "Мужицкой правдой". Это – первая газета, напечатанная по-белорусски. Каждый номер "Мужицкой правды" посвящался какой-либо конкретной проблеме. Газета разоблачала реальную политику имперских властей, была настоящим призывом к свободе.

Портрет К. Калиновского

К. Калиновский (фото А. Бонольди)

В освободительном движении Калиновский принадлежал к революционно-демократическому крылу, сторонники которого назывались "красными". Кастусь со своими товарищами боролся за независимость Литвы-Беларуси. В социальной сфере они требовали передачи земель крестьянам и установления справедливых отношений в обществе

10-го января 1863 г., когда восстание началось, Калиновский председательствовал в белорусско-литовском инсургентском Комитете. Фактически он возглавлял повстанческое правительство в Вильне (Вильнюсе). Но другая часть конспираторов, известная как "белые", состояла из крупных землевладельцев. Они не хотели вовлечения в движение народных масс и решили взять власть в повстанческой организации в собственные руки. В результате переворота осуществлённого "белыми" Калиновский с единомышленниками был отстранён от власти. Его отправили в Гродно на должность повстанческого комиссара.

Только после четырёх месяце пассивного, вялого командования "белых", "красных" вернули к управлению восстанием. Но было уже поздно. Несмотря на все усилия Калиновского, к осени сопротивение было подавлено. Пока Кастусь оставался на свободе он делал всё, чтобы накопить силы и возобновить борьбу следующей весной. Но предатель выдал Калиновского, и он был арестован.

Находясь в тюрьме, Кастусь написал трогательные последние обращения к своей невесте и всему белорусскому народу, известные как "Письма из-под виселицы".

10 марта 1864 г. Кастусь Калиновский был казнён на Лукишской площади в Вильне.